35 Denton

35 Denton is a walkable, 4-day music festival in Denton, TX. Denton itself is a musical hub (thanks to UNT and all that jazz), but when 35 Denton rolls around, acts from all over the world come to play. 35 Denton includes day panels, free shows, big outdoor main stages, indoor venues, food trucks, and  live screen-printing. 35 Denton is like SXSW‘s little sister and happens the weekend before SXSW’s music portion.

This was my first year to be at the festival as a regular patron and not a volunteer. The past two years, I have volunteered as a venue liaison for 35 Denton — once called NX35 (2010) and 35 Conferette (2011). In the past, volunteering meant working with the bands (like Julianna Barwick and Dan Deacon), running around on my bicycle, and getting into shows for “free.”

This year, however, I had a blast taking it easy and being walkie-talkie free. I had a 4-day wristband, but I must be getting old, because I really only took advantage of one full day at the festival. Here’s my (crappy, rained on iPhone) point of view of Saturday at 35 Denton:

Get your wristbands here!

Atlas Sound setting up on Main Stage 2 and a stylish youngster hitting up the grilled cheese food truck.

Brown from Sore Losers on the big screen at Main Stage 1 (and repping Loyal KNG)!

My friends Pan Ector Industries doing their live screen-printing near the main stages.

It literally rained the entire time we were in Denton.

Nammi – or as I like to say, Nom Nom – food truck. Tofu Banh Mi for the win!

We killed some time at Mad World Records – awesome new little shop on the Denton Square.

Yep, Mad World Records totally had this in the back of the shop!

An empty stage at Dan’s Silverleaf – where we ducked in from the rain before…

Devin the Dude took Main Stage 1, charging up the crowd with laughs, rhymes, and weed smoke.

After Devin the Dude, California band Best Coast was on Main Stage 2. I had to work hard to see them, as umbrellas got the front row.

Bun B was last to take to the main stages Saturday night – headlining what had been an incredible day of music. This is the worst photo I took, but that’s because the crowd was really moving to the beat.

It was during Bun B’s tribute to Pimp C that I realized I was coming down with a horrible cold. Unfortunately, that cut my night short, but I heard that -topic and Brain Gang did a number on the crowd Hailey’s later that night.

4-day wristbands are already on a blind pre-sale for 35 Denton 2013. I highly recommend buying one of these now, as they’re only $35 and that’s the price of a single day wristband. In the past, acts like Big Boi, Cut Chemist, The Walkmen, and many more big names as well as locals have played the event. I can’t wait to see who’s up for next year!

Oh! And, thanks to those of you who gave me a shout out (including Brown from Sore Losers) and “stopped by” to snag free stickers!

One response to “35 Denton

  1. Pingback: Vinyl Thoughts 2 | The Good Child

Leave a Reply

