1992-2011: Listen Up

When I was about 9 years old, I was well-rooted in music; I played and listened to music on a daily basis. Now, that might sound classy, but I wasn’t listening to the most intelligent stuff…or, was I? Am I now? Have I ever?

Here’s a timeline (best to my memory) in order of how old I was and what music I was mainly listening to at the time. Ride the wave of sh•tty pop, boy groups, girl groups, solo acts, ghetto rap, pop punk, punk, indie, hip-hop, turntablism, experimentalism, singer-songwriters and folk:

1992-1993 • Ace of Base, Boyz II Men, Janet Jackson, LL Cool J

1994-1997 • Montell Jordan, TLC, Da BratBrandyTupac ShakurBone Thugs n’ Harmony, Master P, Notorious B.I.G, Lil’ KimOutkast, Erykah Badu, Missy Elliot, Mase, NasThe FugeesNo Doubt (a classmate with a skateboard gave me their 1st cassette release), Smashing Pumpkins, Veruca Salt

1998-2001 • DMX, Eve, Jay-ZBeastie BoysMxPx, CakeRancid, The Smiths (Thanks to 102.1 The Edge’s Adventure Club with Josh), Tsunami Bomb, The Rentals, The Get Up Kids311, RadioheadAnti-Flag, The Casualties, The ExploitedThe MisfitsWeezer, M.S.IThe Pixies, Bright Eyes, CKY, Kottonmouth Kings, The Descendents

2002-2006 • Kid Koala, DJ Shadow, DJ Swamp, Doctor Quinn (and fellow schoolmate), DJ Q-bert, A Tribe Called Quest, Jurassic 5, MC ChrisBjörk, Aphex Twin, The Dresden Dolls, Devotchka, Tegan & SaraPortishead, Daft Punk, Ani DiFranco, Ben HarperTom Waits, The Thermals, LovageHerbaliser, World’s End Girlfriend, MF Doom, Cut Chemist

2007-2009 Dilated Peoples, AtmosphereM.I.A, The Cool Kids, Thievery CorporationSantogold (pre-Santigold), LCD Soundsystem, PinbackAnimal Collective, Harlem, Girl Talk, Ratatat, Bassnectar, Thao NguyenArcade Fire, Battles, Dan Deacon, ADULT., Diplo, Metronomy, Panda Bear, Talib Kweli, Mos Def, CommonThe Knife, Lykki Li

2010-2011 • The Heartless Bastards, Sarah Jaffe,  Black LipsM. Ward, Sore Losers, Damaged Good$, Reggie WattsFlorence & the Machine, Smith Westerns, Wavves, Fleet Foxes, Wale, Aloe Blacc, Big Boi, The Walkmen, Kid Cudi and so forth and so on with older favorites in between!

Interestingly enough…

When I was growing up, at times (90’s) I never knew if the music I was listening to was new or old; I was too young to know what was fresh and was had come before me. In composing this blog, I’ve found that I was always listening to what was fresh, with some classics intertwined. I also fell to some of the more mainstream, mindless stuff.

Throughout the journey, there’s one special someone I have to thank for sticking by me no matter how bad or loud it got…

Bean.

Music moves me. What music moves you? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

